A Traveler’s Tales from Malawi


Culture collision
October 20, 2008, 12:05 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Last week, I was in one of my favorite cities…well, more like a really small town…in the South for another research training. It’s a beautiful place with limited but decent food options. Unfortunately, my stomach was not up for it. So I experienced a few questionable days but hung in. The training went relatively well. The research assistants all seem quite competent and I was at first impressed with the consultants until I later experience firsthand the one’s sexist attitudes.  His way of thinking was not a surprise per say. Let’s be honest and real, I’m living in sub-Saharan Africa. But here is a man who is well educated, saying all sorts of nonsense about women and how “Malawi will never develop if we keep on trying to educate women.” WHAT?!?! For those of you who know me well, you will be surprised to learn that I remained calm and actually debated him effectively. Because I remained cool and calm, I was able to find all the right words and arguments without tripping over my rage 🙂 It was a great moment! Even the Hopkins professor who was with us said to the consultant, “I think that she has gotten you.” Oh the sweetness of seeing this grown macho adult male fumble over himself. The kicker is that he has a daughter and believes that she can become whatever that she wants. But yet, he is putting down more than half of the Malawian population with the language that he was/is using.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good for you, Lis! I have no doubts you could put any man in his place. 🙂

Comment by Em

YOU GO GIRL!!!

Comment by mom




Leave a Reply

