A Traveler’s Tales from Malawi


Driving here is a dangerous undertaking
June 3, 2008, 8:16 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I made a promise before I left that I wouldn’t drive while I am here. I broke that promise but literally to drive up the road from me to drop off someone’s luggage. I had no problems, but I was very tense the whole time – trying to remember which side is the wrong side when most people drive kind of in the center of the road on back streets, and let’s be honest, even most main streets.

The thing is that roads are narrow to begin with and full of potholes. If I didn’t know this and just watched a car driving towards me, I would assume everyone drives drunk (although this occurs as well). But most times, people are just trying to avoid all the potholes. And then the narrow straights are crowded even more with people walking, riding bikes, and hauling stuff on both sides of the road. It’s very tight space.

Anyways, I have heard of a number of car accidents and death resulting from them lately. And on the way to Zomba, I witnessed the aftermath of such an accident. A young woman was hit by a bus and was dead in the middle of the road. We pass through this village on our way and it was just so numbing. The woman could have been sleeping if she was somewhere else. The community surrounded both sides of the street, and there was just a stillness that existed. Life here as is the case everywhere is so fragile.

I think that car accidents and deaths related to car accidents is the third major problem for Malawi after poverty and HIV. I have noticed more road bumps and blocks lately so maybe these will help. Anyways, it all has reminded me that I will keep my promise and not drive.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment